Copa Sudamericana 2010: Octavos

The last 16 stage of Copa Sudamericana 2010 was completed on Thursday evening with Newell's Old Boys the last team to officially qualify for the quarter finals, although being 6-0 up from the first leg against Bolivian side San José meant that they were pretty much the first team to make it through. The only other remarkable result from the first round was the shock 4-2 win for Chilean side Unión San Felipe against holders LDU Quito. Liga pulled it around in their home leg with a convincing 6-1 win, the last time they failed to win a home tie in Copa Sudamericana was a 1-1 draw against Boca Juniors on 1 October 2008, since then their record is 1-0, 4-0, 2-1, 7-0, 5-1 and 6-1. Newell's and Liga de Quito will face each other in the quarter final.

The pick of the 2nd leg games was Independiente's 4-2 win against Uruguayan side Defensor Sporting Club, which was selected as our game of the week.

There were plenty of other brilliant games. Colombian side Deportes Tolima overturned a 2 goal defecit against Banfield with a 3-0 win, Brazilian side Avai scored 3 goals to win their game against Emelec from 1-3 down on aggregate and Uruguyan side Peñarol were eliminated on away goals after an entertaining 3-2 win against Brazilian side Goiás.

Brazilian sides dominate the quarter final line up with 4 representatives, there are 2 Argentine teams and one each from Colombia and Ecuador.

Defensor Sporting (Uru) 1-0 Independiente (Arg)
Independiente (Arg) 4-2 Defensor Sporting (Uru)
Winner: Independiente

Banfield (Arg) 2-0 Deportes Tolima (Col)
Deportes Tolima (Col) 3-0 Banfield (Arg)
Winner: Deportes Tolima

Newell's Old Boys (Arg) 6-0 San José (Bol)
San José (Bol) 2-0 Newell's Old Boys (Arg)
Winner: Newell's Old Boys 

Unión San Felipe (Chi) 4-2 LDU Quito (Ecu)
LDU Quito (Ecu) 6-1 Unión San Felipe (Chi)
Winner: LDU Quito

Goiás (Bra) 1-0 Peñarol (Uru)
Peñarol (Uru) 3-2 Goiás (Bra)
Winner: Goiás (on away goals)

Atlético MG (Bra) 2-0 Independiente Santa Fe (Col)
Independiente Santa Fe (Col) 1-0 Atlético MG (Bra)
Winner: Atlético MG

Emelec (Ecu) 2-1 Avai (Bra)
Avai (Bra) 3-1 Emelec (Ecu)

Universitario (Bol) 0-1 Palmeiras (Bra)
Palmeiras (Bra) 3-1 Universitario (Bol)
Winner: Palmeiras 

No comments:

Post a Comment